top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMK

A Year in Review

Today marks the one year anniversary of this blog's inception. Holy moly.

Oh man. Now I feel so uncool for writing 'holy moly.' Forgive me? 🥺

It has been some year. I will not bore you with the details why. I feel like the news and Twitter and a look out the window at this strange new world inundates us with that information more than enough every day. I am so grateful that I have been able to share it with you all, though. Along the way, I introduced you to some of my favorite people in this world as we went on adventures to Smorgasburg, apple orchards, the NYC dining scene, Philly restaurants, and some cool local spots in South Jersey. There were some really beautiful brunches, and some incredibly delicious dinners.

We had breakfasts at home ranging from how to make the best steel-cut oatmeal for a power breakfast, to how to brighten up your weekend with a blueberry cake. I tried to share recipes for young adults who are balancing busy schedules but love cooking and eating well, because my writing professors heavily stressed that I should write what I know. I hope you have had as fun reading as I had writing. Here are the year's stats, by my count:


Total Restaurants Visited: 37


Recipes Tried: 44


Worst Restaurant Overall: Roey's (1.5 kisses) - a night gone terribly wrong when my, albeit delicious, broccoli rabe ricotta pizza gave me a horrible case of food poisoning that left me weak for days. I have Rebecca to thank for nursing me through it. While I have no intentions of returning, the restaurant is still serving take-out so I hope things have improved.


Worst Dessert Spot Overall: Big Gay Ice Cream (2 kisses) - I always wanted to go here because I had heard such great things. Instead, I was met with limited flavors and and an uninspired chocolate cone. I have had tastier - and way cheaper! - ice cream from Mr. Softee.


Worst Recipe: French Onion Frittata (1.5 kisses) - This recipe incorrectly reported several phases of caramelizing the onions and preparing the frittata. I did my research to give you all a new and improved recipe so you have a better experience, but I still shudder to remember that first bite of the original.


Best Restaurant in NJ: The Farm & The Fisherman (3.5 kisses) - I had such a good night coming here with my parents and sister before cheering on my other sister at her skit show performance. The service was incredible, the food was divine, and I am pleased to report they are making it through COVID at the moment, offering patio dining and contact-free take-out.


Best Restaurant in Philadelphia: Parc (5 kisses) - This has been my favorite restaurant in the city (and the world) since high school. I had my sixteenth birthday celebration here. In all these years, Parc is still serving up the finest dishes in Philly. They are currently offering outdoor dining, pick-up, and delivery service.


Best Restaurant in NYC: Walker's (4.5 kisses) and Aunt Jake's (4.5 kisses), ladies and gentlemen, have had a tie! It depends on what you're in the mood for. Mouthwatering pub fare and a fun atmosphere? Head to Walker's down in TriBeCa. While I cannot find any official COVID notice on their website, it appears they are still up and running and offering takeout. More in the mood for a lovely plate of scrumptious Italian cuisine? Look no further than Aunt Jake's, which has locations in Little Italy as well as Greenwich Village. They are offering takeout and limited seating right now.


Best Dessert Spot: Milk & Cream (5 kisses) - This place was just incredible. I want to show it off to every person I love. Th concept, the quality, the fun. I am crazy about Milk & Cream and cannot wait to go back. Right now, they are offering pick-up, NYC only, so if you are in the city, please go get a cup of that beautiful ice cream for me.


Best Brunch Overall: Il Bambino (4.5 kisses) serves up some amazing breakfast sandwiches in a home-y, relaxed environment. It is a must if you are in Astoria. If you are in their delivery zone, treat yourself to an amazing breakfast asap! On the flip side, if you are looking for a boozy brunch, Pardon My French (4 kisses) is your best bet. With French twists on brunch classics, unlimited mimosas, and a charming waitstaff, you are in for a treat. Very exciting - after closing down for three months of COVID, they recently opened up their garden for socially distanced dining.


Best Recipe: Sun-dried Tomato Risotto (5 kisses) - Since the day I made this for Shannon and myself, I have not been able to stop thinking about it. I want to cook it for everyone. That was one of the best nights in the early, bleak quarantine days. I had so much fun with Shannon and I cooked the thing I am most proud of making in my whole life. I hope there is a lot more like that to come.


Best HelloFresh Recipe: Balsamic Tomato Parmesan Risotto - HelloFresh had a heroic impact on my life when COVID gutted the market shelves and eliminated my ability to travel to full-service grocery stores. While I no longer use the meal service because of my living situation at the moment, I would go back in a heartbeat and think it is worth looking into, especially if you are in a city or work crazy hours that make grocery shopping a hassle. This delicious risotto recipe kit they sent me tasted heavenly and gave me the guts to try the aforementioned Best Recipe of the Year. (honorable mention:Roasted Veggie Farro Bowls & Zucchini & Tomato Flatbreads)


Best COVID Take-Out: Quahog's Seafood Shack & Bar (3.5 stars) - Quahog's serves fine food in a relaxed environment and I am loving their takeout. While my brother was visiting we went back for a second round and, besides annihilating the chips and guac, I had an incredibly yummy mahi-mahi burrito that I highly recommend in addition to the fish tacos and lobster roll. So fresh and delicious!

Also, on the topic of COVID Take-Out, my family and I went back to Ristorante Luciano for Reilly's graduation dinner take-out and the prosciutto-wrapped cantaloupe appetizer my mom and I split, as well as my shrimp scampi, were both absolutely fabulous! Supporting local restaurants, especially in these trying times that have made the dining scene so much more difficult, is a great way to support your community. I highly recommend Luciano's to all of you who are down the shore 😊

So I have moved out of New York City for an indiscernible amount of time, and that is sad in some ways, but I like to look at is a fresh start and a chance for new opportunities. I did not have a clear idea in mind for what this blog would be when I started it, but I am excited to see what it has become. I look forward to continuing to watch it evolve, just as my life does. Here is to a new, exciting year, filled with love, good vibes, and positive progress for all of us 🥂


I love you guys so much!


XX,

MK

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page