top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMK

Peter Shield's Inn on Super Bowl Weekend

Rating: 💋 💋 💋


Re: my last post, spoiler, you all may not have heard, but the Eagles DID go to the Super Bowl, so I did come back to Stone Harbor to watch it. Shannon was already coming that weekend to take my dad to a Flyers game, so we had a fun little weekend of four.

On Saturday, Shannon and my dad drove into Philly to see the game (Flyers lost 😭) and my mom and I chilled at home and watched Elvis. I have a lot of thoughts about that movie but, in brief, it was very well done as a film and the reality of the story absolutely infuriated me.

I calmed down to get dressed for dinner, came downstairs and my dad and Shannon had surprised us by bringing home gorgeous Eagles jerseys for the next day! We regrouped to go to dinner at the Peter Shield's Inn.

This was my first time going to Peter Shield's and oh my gosh. The lobby is absolutely gorgeous! We had to wait a bit for our table. The place was buzzing. So much so that there was nowhere to wait but right by the front door. It was not toooo long of a wait before we were led to a little table in the corner of the parlor by the sealed fireplace. It really should have been a table for two - a seating of four was crowded before any plates even arrived. I guess they had a packed reservation book and were doing their best to squeeze all the parties in, but it was a bit difficult. Throw in the fact that we had a leftie in attendance (yours truly) and it is a wonder nothing got knocked over. I am sad to say I was not so sure about our server either. Again, it was a busy night, but Dylan offered to bring an ice bucket and then totally forgot so my dad had to ask after it, took our appetizer orders and then didn't task for entrées and left so quickly we could not even offer to just put everything in at once to move the process along, and he touched the mouthpiece of the red wine bottle, which, you know, was not really necessary or a totally sanitary thing to do, I guess.

We ordered quite an array for our first course. Oysters, cheese board, salmon ceviche - incroyable! I did not have any cheese because I had forgotten my lactaid, but the oyster I had was nice, fresh and tangy. I loved the salmon ceviche. What can I say? I love crisp veggies and fish, and the balsamic added a lovely tart flavor to the dish. It was my favorite part of the entire meal.

For the main course, everyone but me ordered the halibut - I went for crab cakes. I lovvvveee me a crab cake. The halibut was very large and I do not think anyone finished it. The verdict I got was, it was good for a while, but then it got tiring. I was glad my cake did not have much filler, it tasted very crabby. There also was not too much mascarpone risotto underneath, so I was not overly full. Love that. It was not the best crab cake in my life, and sometimes I think an unfussy beach shack can do some of the best crab cakes you have ever tasted, but it was still pretty good.

Pictured here, Shannon is cry-laughing about me pretending to be a tiger as a child, not her dessert. You had to be there. We were in the middle of an in-depth conversation about shenanigans of youth when the waiter came out and surprised us with a birthday treat. We again had crème brûlée because my dad cannot resist it, and Shannon and I also put our heads together and went for the pot de crème au chocolat. It was SO good. Nevermind that I was full from the crab, gimme a spoon and let's go! Shannon and I concur - we lovvvveee vanilla bean ice cream!

I would also like to give a shoutout to the pianist who was taking requests via text. I suggested a piano version of 'Funkytown' as well as the Eagles fight song, and he really went for it. That's the spirit! He's my guy.


Well, Super Bowl Sunday did not turn out to be a great day, but I am at least grateful for the weekend I spent with my family. Not to be Manchego or anything, it is just true. It would be my last trip home for a while too, so I am glad we had the time together.


XX,

MK

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page