top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMK

Xochitl

Rating: 💋 💋 💋 💋 💋


Oh yeah, the big five. You definitely want to read this one.

I came home fresh from set, having enjoyed a lovely walk through sunny Brooklyn while listening to great music. (I only danced a little bit down the sidewalk. I'm cool guys, I swear.) Shannon was reading in the sun and wanted to know what we should do for dinner. It did not take us long to opt for Mexican - her idea - and immediately we found a restaurant with a great menu and a deal. We love a good deal. Xochitl grabbed our attention and man, did it deliver.

The food came so fast! Shannon's burrito was simply beautiful. She got carne asada with guac, pico de gallo, rice and beans, sour cream, the whole nine yards. It was incredible. So good each bite made you feel like doing a little shimmy. I decided to get something a little different and went with a rota. I have had this kind of sandwich only once before, during my semester abroad, as my first meal ever in Barcelona. It was fabulous in my memory - would it be fabulous stateside? I ordered the Xochitl Huevos y Chorizo rota complete with avocado, cheese, and tomato. The egg was fried perfectly and I loved how the crispy crumbled chorizo interplayed with the smashed avocado. It was the tastiest blend of salty and sweet wrapped up in an envelope of cheese. Hello, heaven, nice to meet you. It made for the BEST meal.


Shannon and I talked about how Farmacy and Westville commented on my blogs about them. This is not to brag, I am just so shook that they did that. I am very grateful they liked what I wrote about them. Oh, the thrill!

We used that feedback to fuel a larger point: Brooklyn is trying to win me back.

I admit, I kind of like the power this gives me.

It is like the idea behind all those songs where the singer is like, look: when I broke up with you, you were not actually supposed to leave. You were supposed to argue with me to stay because you love me oh so much. Obviously. Now, I am the singer in this scenario, and Brooklyn is the person that I broke up with, but I did not necessarily mean it. I mean, come on. I love you!

I have to say, I am kind of impressed. Brooklyn is doing a hell of a job chasing after me, and it means the most. Keep up the good work and I might just not be able to resist.

Will I take the borough back?


I mean...kinda yeah, I'm thinking about it.

The reason for my trip? I was in Brooklyn to work on the pilot for this project 'In the Making.' In addition to my vaccination, everybody had to get COVID tested to gain entry. It was so cool to get back on a real set, you guys! When I was not on, I enjoyed watching the production team work, learning a little bit more with every project and discovering new equipment and angles and styles. When I was on, I had a blast. The director called 'Action' and I started performing my little piece and I was like, "Okay, yeah. I love this. This is what I want to do, no question." Acting is not a life choice I question much and I have been studying and preparing for my career for a really long time, but actually getting into the thick of it again reminded me what storytelling is really all about. Plus, everybody on the set was so nice. It was very exciting to get to meet new people and find myself joking around with them and making friends. Maybe I didn't lose all my social skills in isolation? I was worried about that, and this project kind of reassured me that it will be okay. By the time we wrapped on day two, I was just so happy.

If moving back to Brooklyn comes with more sets and more projects, yeah. I'm in.



XX,

MK





26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page