top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMK

Tompkins Square Bagels

Updated: Jan 14, 2020

Rating: 💋 💋 💋 💋 😘


Okay, so, Tompkins Square Bagels was one of those situations where, once an idea gets put into your head, it takes root and cries out for your attention each and every day until you finally satisfy the thought by bringing it to action.

I had seen photographs of beautiful bagel sandwiches from this spot forever ago and immediately checked out the menu and added it to my restaurant word doc, but then it was just another item on a list where each venue is created equal. Spots are visited when a craving or desire to go to a certain part of the city cause me to peruse the list and find the perfect match. Nothing made these bagels specifically a priority, until two weeks ago when somebody casually told me sometimes they get bagels on their way to class in Greenwich Village. It immediately lit a spark, like, excuse me, do you realize that is a restaurant on My List?? You have just been going like it is no big deal while I have been looking for an excuse to go for quite some time now! Tompkins Square Bagels suddenly rose to Priority No. 1, and, this past Saturday, I mobilized my plan to take care of that priority once and for all.

I could not be happier that my friend brought the bagel spot to the top of my radar cos oh baby, it was delicious.

The Stuto specialty sandwich

You guys, this place was incredibly cute. It was not a very large space, but gave off strong beach town deli vibes that exuded a lot of charm. I come from the Jersey Shore, so this means a lot to me. I have no idea how a New York City bagel place managed to imbue their restaurant with a small town, homey feel, but I give them so many props for doing so. Between the simple and welcoming decor, friendly staff, exciting menu list with fun-named sandwiches, and cash only sign (so remember to bring cash!) I felt even more sure that this would be an excellent food experience.

I was not disappointed.

Sadly, they were out of salt bagels, which I had been very curious to try, but that is on me for going to a bagel place at 3:00 in the afternoon. The latte was standard, okay, but the two sandwiches we ordered and split were phenomenal.

Here's the breakdown:


The Dylan breakfast sandwich

We ordered one breakfast sandwich, The Dylan, and one lunch sandwich, the Stuto, and each took a half so that everybody could enjoy two versions of near heaven.


The Everything bagel's dough had a springy pull with each bite and flavorful crust, creating a soft pillow for the sandwich fixings and adding just the right amount of zip with the sesame seeds, poppy seeds, and garlic. Salt bagel next time for sure, but this was no loss.


The Dylan included eggs, sliced mozzarella, pesto, and roasted red peppers. Taking a cue from the Italian style it emulated, the sandwich was simple and fresh, allowing the slightly bitter pepper to be mellowed by the egg, yet livened up by the garlicky pesto, and tied up sweetly by the soft mozzarella that melted into all the ingredients and completed the sandwich. Best to eat this half first when it is still hot, and you're in for a great time!


That being said, the Stuto was widely regarded as the fan favorite. Packed with chipotle chicken salad, guacamole, bacon, and tomato, this sandwich pulled out all the stops. Rather than creating an overly creamy mess of a sandwich, the kick from the chipotle provided a great complement for the avocado; then the tomato helped balance the spice, and the bacon added a much called for crunch. Plus, everyone knows that crispy bacon and chunky guac are a match made in heaven. The only unpleasant part of this experience was the sharp stab of sadness I felt when there was no sandwich left to eat.


This pain was ameliorated quickly enough when I realized all this really meant was I have more of a reason to go hang out in Greenwich, one of my favorite neighborhoods. Whether the bagels are the prime reason or a convenient pit stop while in the Village, I am super psyched to work on my next priority - becoming a regular at Tompkins Square Bagels. If that's not enough of a recommendation for you, then I don't know what is.


Be back with more sandwiches in a hot sec!


XX,

MK

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page