top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMK

Saturday Night Slow-Roasted Filet

Rating: 💋 💋 💋 💋

If you all recall, mayonnaise is one of the few food products that I will not touch. My mom likes to slice up tomatoes and dip them right into a jar of Hellman's directly in front of me just to throw off my groove. I cannot explain my issue, there is simply something about the flavor that does not please my tastebuds.

Never say never though, because if you throw around the words 'aïoli' or 'chipotle mayonnaise' I am raising my hand right up in the air, like 'pick meee!' Delicious! The homemade basil concoction my mom has in her recipe arsenal is the mayonnaise of my dreams.

For a recent Saturday night dinner, my mom pulled out all the stops, making this Slow-Roasted Filet with Basil Mayonnaise and a Vegetable Tian on the side. I happen to be a huge lover of vegetables. It might not have made me the coolest kid in grade school, but I consider it a blessing I did not peak at age twelve. Check how gorgeous those veggies are! This dish reminds me of Chef Remy of Ratatouille fame so much my heart trembles with joy thinking about it.

It is just a stunning meal. The Tian combines an all-star cast of vegetables - summery zucchini, juicy tomato, fan-favorite potato, and the culinary rock that is the onion - and tops the whole thing with savory thyme and a heavenly coating of Gruyère cheese. Getting your vegetables has never before been such a positive experience. Combine that with this slow-roasted filet, which is so tender and flavorful, and you have a lovely fine-dining experience right in the comfort of your own home. I cannot stop raving about the basil mayonnaise that completes the main. It is so flavorful with just the right amount of salt and a creamy basil finish, and it keeps so well. Enjoy it on Saturday with this filet, then spread it on your sandwich for Monday's lunch. You can even just make it on its own and jar it to have on hand - the gift that just keeps giving!


I have reached the point of social distancing where all the activities I created for myself to keep the day moving are no longer doing the trick. They fatigue me. This has taught me the important lesson of drawing my limits and being kind to myself. I am trying to switch things up a bit. More to come on that.

I hope something exciting and fresh, big or small, comes your way this week!

Happy Hanukkah to all those celebrating!


XX,

MK

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page